“A Prayer For The New Year”

January 4, 2016

“Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ!” From the rising of the sun to the going down of the same I declare to You, Eternal Father, my full allegiance and surrender my heart to be wholly devoted to You with the fruit of my lips continuously giving You praise.

I thank You that in Your great mercy You have given me a new birth into a living hope through the resurrection of Jesus Christ from the dead. In Your magnificent mercy You reached down and saved my soul as You do for all who place their complete trust in You. You granted me a new birth when I humbled myself and publicly declared, “Yes! I want to follow Jesus Christ!” At that moment I began the journey of walking the straight and narrow way, the way of righteousness. Thank you for the living hope that I have through the resurrection of Jesus Christ from the dead.

I rejoice in my spiritual inheritance that is being preserved for me in heaven. I have no worries that it will be stolen, lost, or that it has an expiration date, but with eternity’s values in view I know that it will never perish, spoil or fade. I earnestly pray for an unflinching resolve not to look to the right nor to the left but to keep my eyes focused on You, Almighty God and Loving Father, and the eternal dwelling You are preparing for me. This inheritance that awaits me is safely kept in heaven for me, while I through faith am shielded by Your power until the coming of the salvation that is ready to be revealed in the last time.

I do not know what joys or sorrows I will experience in this new year. Grant me faith and strength to experience Your joy regardless of what I may face. I want to learn how to genuinely rejoice even in trials knowing that they ultimately prove the genuineness of my faith which is of greater worth than gold, which perishes even though refined by fire. May all the experiences that come my way result in praise, glory and honor when Jesus Christ is revealed.

In the ups and downs and the wilderness experiences of daily living You preserve my salvation that will be fully revealed in the last day. Though I have not seen You, I love You; and even though I do not see You now I believe in You and am filled with an inexpressible and glorious joy that flows from within me like springs of living water that never run dry.

Keep me loving, joyful, and dutiful in my Christian walk this new of year of 2016, enduring the spiritual race ever before me, while enlisting others to join me, as I march onward to Zion, the beautiful city of God. Amen.

This Daily Prayer is from this Daily Encouragement message.

